Un-Nessa-sary Answers to Un-asked Questions: TV Shows

Sooooooo, I’m sort of a tv junkie. I’ll watch anything that allows me to shut my brain off and forget about worldly things. Family Guy, South Park, HGTV, The Food Network, Jeopardy, Wheel of Fortune, sitcoms, family tv shows, etc. Anything really. Well, ok, not everything. I don’t really watch reality tv, although there was that era of Jersey Shore, but if you were my age when that came out, you would’ve watched it too.

I don’t really know if it’s a good or bad thing to watch tv shows as much as I do, but the reason I do is that it lets me escape for a moment and imagine the world that the characters live in. Imagine being those characters who had to live that life and end up with having to figure out how to fix their situations. If I’m gonna be honest here, sometimes some of my personal advice comes from watching so many different kinds of tv shows and piecing together things that make sense in life. The world of television opens you up to different perspectives! I mean, nothing beats actually interacting with people and hearing about their life stories or sharing some of your own, but it’s great to be able to either sympathize or empathize. Someone out there created these tv shows with a reason in mind, something either out of experience and just exaggerated for a good storyline, or just a way for people to better understand why they might feel a certain way and how one might be able to handle the situation. Of course, it’s up to the person on how they solve whatever problems they might have, but at least there’s one perspective out there that helps us to cope with the similarities that a character may have had on a show that you currently deal with.

28. What shows are you into?

UGH I’M JUST GONNA LIST ALL MY FAVORITE SHOWS IN NO PARTICULAR ORDER BUT AT THE SAME ALSO KIND OF IN THE ORDER OF WHAT I LOVE WATCHING.

  • How I Met Your Mother (I could literally watch this show on re-run for life)
  • New Girl (this one too)
  • Brooklyn Nine Nine (currently binge-watching this show)
  • Rick and Morty
  • We Bare Bears
  • Futurama
  • This is Us
  • American House Wife
  • Single Parents
  • The Good Place
  • Community
  • Atlanta
  • Shameless
  • Kim’s Convenience
  • South Park
  • Sick Note

Honestly, I like sitcom shows. And if done right, drama shows. I used to also love crime-drama shows like “Bones” and “Criminal Minds” but it’s been awhile since I’ve watched this genre. I definitely have a soft spot for adult comedy shows as you can see from my list. Soooome of them are definitely dumb and just easy on the brain because if you don’t understand a reference, it doesn’t really matter. And of course, I have a soft spot for kid shows. I’M A KID AT HEART OK. Also, some of the Netflix shows are crazy. AND I DON’T KNOW, I HAVE THIS NOT-SO-SECRET-AFTER-I-TYPE-THIS-OUT OBSESSION WITH ASIAN DRAMA SHOWS. Well at least for one part of my life I would watch asian dramas back to back, especially K-Dramas. I watch with a friend of mine who I got to watch with me and he didn’t think he would be into the drama but I awoken his inner drama feels. I mean, who doesn’t like to see exaggerated actions come to life in the most dramatic way possible? There was this one drama that hit me so hard called, “Who Are You?” [OKAY SO I SPENT THE PASSED 20 MINS TRYING TO FIND THE CORRECT K-DRAMA BECAUSE APPARENTLY THERE’S MORE THAN ONE WITH THE SAME NAME]. This was released in 2008 and followed the life of a dad who died in an accident and had 49 days left to let go of any earthly things. So he possesses the body of someone and tries to take care of his daughter who felt unloved by her father. OH. MY. GOD. This was THE K-drama that hooked me.

Well, here’s my unnecessary answer to an unasked question. Til next time.

-V

PC: VV Art feat Dragon Ball Super Whiz and Beerus Hungry for Ramen